Animal Biology Animal Biology

Zoological research studies structure, physiology, behavior, taxonomy and evolution of animals at the biochemical, cellular, organismal, and ecosystem levels.

The Division of Animal Biology engaged in cutting-edge research in animal kingdom from the molecular to the integrative levels. We advance the research of the function and mechanism of animal behavior, systematics, phylogeny, and biogeography of animals, physiology and endocrinology, ecology, and developmental Biology. Our model organisms are diverse from invertebrates to vertebrates.

The Division of Animal Biology offers undergraduate and graduate programs that include both practical and theoretical approaches. Students have an in-depth laboratory component and fieldwork.

The Division of Animal Biology has an outstanding Museum of Zoology used for teaching and research.

Our works provide us with information to improve our life with consideration to health, food security, economy, nature preservation, and societal development.

The Faculty of the Division of Animal Biology are core members of the Center of Excellence in Phylogeny of Living Organisms in Iran.

Our research are:

  • Aquatic ecosystems of Iran: Diversity and Climate change
  • Biology of leeches
  • Cancer: cell signaling and drug delivery
  • Cell and tissue culture in cancer
  • Cell signaling in ovarian cancer
  • Crustacean biology
  • Developmental Biology
  • Entomology: Systematics, physiology and ecology
  • Neurobiology of the mesocorticolimbic neurotransmitter systems and signaling pathways in brain cognitive functions
  • Reproductive physiology and endocrinology in aquatic animals
  • Stem cells from basic to biomedical approaches
  • Stem cells: cell differentiation

Animal Biology Faculty Animal Biology Faculty

Ali Reza Sari, PhD

Professor, Chair

Phone: 61112702

e-mail: sari@ut.ac.ir

Marine Zoology

Crustacean Biology

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae 

S. M. Hadi Alavi, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 61112626

e-mail: hadi.alavi@ut.ac.ir

Molecular and Cellular Biology of Reproduction in Aquatic Animals

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Farnosh Attari, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 61112626

e-mail: attari@ut.ac.ir

Stem cell

Cancer

Drug delivery

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Ghamartaj Hossein, PhD

Associate Professor

Phone: 61112622

e-mail: ghossein@ut.ac.ir

Reproductive Biology Ovarian Cancer

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Mousa Kehtari, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 61112626

e-mail: mkehtari@ut.ac.ir

 

Profile

Homepage

Masoumeh Malek, PhD

Professor

Phone: 61112702

e-mail: memalek@ut.ac.ir

Biology and Biotechnology of Leeches

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Reza Naderloo, PhD

Associate Professor

Phone: 61112701

e-mail: rnaderloo@ut.ac.ir

Biodiversity

Phylogeny

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Hassan Rahimian, PhD 

Associate Professor

Phone: 61112629

e-mail: h.rahimian@ut.ac.ir

Marine Invertebrates Taxonomy

Ecology & Biology

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Ameneh Rezayof, PhD

Professor

Phone: 61112483

e-mail: arezayof@ut.ac.ir

Neuroscience

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Maryam Sardari, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 6111   

e-mail: sardari_89@ut.ac.ir

Neuroscience

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Marjan Seiedy, PhD

Associate Professor

Phone: 61112629

e-mail: mseyyedi@ut.ac.ir

Community Ecology (Insect and Mites)

Diversity and Taxonomy

 

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae

Bahman Zeynali, PhD

Associate Professor

Phone: 61113237

e-mail: zeynalib@ut.ac.ir

Cell Signaling

Stem Cell Differentiation

Profile

Homepage

Curriculum vitae