School of Biology forms one of the largest and most prominent scientific and educational unit for life sciences in Iran. Our Vision is to achieve excellence in education and research with an international recognition.

The School of Biology has been a critical component of the University of Tehran since its inception in 1934. The Natural Science Program was established at the Faculty of Science in 1934, and the Department of Biology was founded in 1949. Since 2005, Department of Biology was known as School of Biology in the College of Science under new University of Tehran infrastructure.

The School of Biology has a long tradition of excellence in teaching and research. It consists of four departments; Animal Biology, Cell and Molecular Biology, Microbiology, Plant Science. The School maintain collection of various animal, plant and microbial species in the Museum of Zoology, Herbarium, and Microbial Collection, respectively. 

We offer 5 undergraduate programs that provide students with theoretical and practical (laboratory) courses to develop critical thinking skills for a professional or scientific career in all life science disciplines. Our 9 graduate programs provide graduate students with training opportunity in a supportive and rigorous research environment.

Please check the "Recent publication" for our latest research and findings.